Posted by: ImpendingDawn | June 11, 2010

A teensy little rant :)

Labels are a HEEEEUGE issue for me. Now I’m not talking about labels like Abercrombie & Fitch, Hollister, Diesel etc. (although those are pretty annoying too… is it impossible for you to wear clothing that doesn’t have a brand name plastered all over it?) I’m talking about labels being a few words that define who you are as a person.

Now that I think about it, I suppose that’s why I haven’t filled out a bio or written an “About Me” post or anything. In my mind, labels put a number on you and stick you in a box. I DON’T LIKE BEING STUCK IN A BOX!! But seriously. I don’t.

Throughout my life, I’ve had several labels pinned to me. When I was quite young, I was the quiet kid. As I got a bit older, I was the nerdy quiet kid. In junior high, ugly loser was added to the list. My high school label flipped and flopped: too preppy one day and too emo the next

Even some of my friends could not seem to accept the fact that the way I dressed and the style of music I listened to did not define me as a person. I would wear some “preppy” clothes one day and be complimented on how pretty I looked. Then I would wear my skinnies and Converse and they’d stick me in the emo box. And don’t even get me started on their reaction when they found out that I like alternative rock and metalcore. 

Long story short, it drove me insane. Could I not just be me?

I also find it really pathetic that people who proclaim to be followers of God have such huge disputes over tiny things that differ from denomination to denomination. Catholics pray to Mary and some of the saints, while Protestants pray only to God; Mormons believe in different levels of heaven, while Lutherans believe in one.

Sure, I may believe something different than you, but is it really necessary to dispute such trivial differences? NO. The entire concept of denominations kind of irritates me, to be honest. Actually, the entire concept of “religion” irritates me. It seems that people are getting too caught up in the particulars of their religion, rather than just practicing what they believe and leaving others well enough alone. Since when did everyone become so judgemental?

Which brings me to another knotty issue: homosexuality. I have made it no secret that I believe in God. I also believe that homosexuality is wrong. HOWEVER, that is MY OPINION. Who’s to say that my opinion is the correct one? I do not have the right – and neither does anyone else – to judge others on the basis of personal beliefs.

That is a conclusion that I have come to fairly recently, however. If I’m to be totally honest (and I promised myself I would be honest in this blog – that’s the entire point) I have discriminated against and – I’m horribly ashamed to admit this – completely dropped friends on the basis of their sexual preferences.

There. I admitted it. I’m not proud of it, but there it is.

SO. I would like to flaunt the fact that four of my close friends are gay and I’m moving towards improved relations with the friend I abandoned. I would like to simply refuse to acknowledge the fact that nothing I do now will make up for the guilt I feel when I think about how I treated her in the past. But I can’t. I must simply live with my mistakes, and hope to goodness that I learned from them.

On that semi-hopeful note, I shall bid you adieu.

Adieu, Adieu, to you and you and you!

Hooray for a Sound of Music reference!? No..? Alright.

Leave a Reply

Categories

