Posted by: ImpendingDawn | October 29, 2010

*cue funeral music*

If I died today, I would be terrified to see the contents of my eulogy.

“She was extremely good at pretending. So good, in fact, that the majority of people in her life never knew who she really was. Huge parts of her personality were not revealed to others.”

“Risk terrified her; she hated even the thought of putting herself out there in any way. I believe that fear caused her to lose countless amazing opportunities.”

“She was one of the most selfish and detached people I’ve ever met. I always thought we were friends, and she was always willing to listen to my problems, but she never actually did anything about them. She avoided commitment, never took sides. I never once saw her go above and beyond what was directly asked of her by anybody.”

“God was her life, or so she said. However, it was clear by her words and actions each day that she didn’t really mean it. It was shameful.”

That’s not the person I want to be.

Starting today, I’m going to rewrite my eulogy.

Responses

  1. What a great post. It really makes me think about what others would say about me. I feel the same way about my life – I’m really good at pretending. Thanks for posting it and good luck on your resolution.


Leave a Reply

Categories

