Posted by: ImpendingDawn | January 12, 2011

You, sir, are a moron.

Sometimes I wonder what life would be like if we were all unable to lie. If I actually spoke my mind to customers every day, I doubt that I would have a job… Actually, I doubt I would even have friends.

So many of our relationships are built on lies and half-truths. How about the old: “Do these jeans make my butt look fat?” “Of course not! They look good.” Your butt isn’t different than any other time. So yes, it does look fat.

Or what if I honestly answered when people ask what I believe in? “Well, I was raised as a Christian, and I would really love to say that God is the centre of my life. However, that would be a complete lie, so let’s just say I’m kind of a floater at the moment.” Or what if I fessed up to the real reason I’m not carrying a safety knife at work anymore? “Actually, I’m a cutter, so every time I was alone with that darn knife – and even sometimes when I wasn’t alone – I’d get a nearly unquenchable urge to slice my arms up with it. So I got rid of it.”

The world would definitely be a different place. Or rather, the people would be different. No lies, no barriers, no masks to hide behind. The thought is kind of scary… but also kind of wonderful.

But because that isn’t how the world works, I guess I’ll just settle for some slight changes along the way. Next time somebody asks how I am, maybe I’ll actually say “I’ve been better. I have a headache, and I’m getting really sick of smiling when I don’t feel like it. How are you?”

Leave a Reply

Categories

