Posted by: ImpendingDawn | January 20, 2011

IT SNOWS CONSTANTLY HERE.

How did I forget how much I love playing in the snow? How can I still remember that time over three years ago where a girl told me that without my flat-iron I would just be “a frizzy-haired nerd with glasses and braces”? How come that still hurts to think about, but I can easily forget how I looked up at the snow falling from the sky yesterday and thanked God for the beautiful world He gave us?

Two days ago I went sledding at 10:00 in the evening. I thought the idea was crazy;  my day had started before 5:00 a.m., the fact that I had to be at work the next morning was looming over my head, all I wanted to do was lay around at home… and seriously, I wasn’t a child anymore. I was too old for such ridiculous antics.

There is no age limit on fun.

I knew that once. I used to pride myself on the fact that I was always up for anything that seemed fun. If I saw a tree that looked interesting to climb, I’d climb it. If I felt like asking my Grandma to teach me how to needlepoint, I’d do it. Honestly, I believe the only reason I agreed to this late-night escapade was because it seemed like something I would have loved when I was younger and less… jaded? Inhibited?

In any case, it was the most fun I have had in ages. Here’s hoping I never again forget how fun it is to play in the snow. Especially seeing as I live in Canada. It’s not like there’s a shortage of the stuff.

Leave a Reply

Categories

