Posted by: ImpendingDawn | January 31, 2011

Superficiality: One of the Ingredients of Lamesauce.

I am desperately tired of superficial relationships.

Why are we so uncomfortable with venturing beyond “What’s new in your life?” Sometimes it seems that circumstances and plans are all I know how to talk about. And even then, sometimes I spend so much time talking that I forget to listen.

The other day I was working with a lady that I had never really had a chance to be around, as we worked in different departments. I had a somewhat less than favorable impression of her, but decided that I would disregard that and act as though this was our first meeting. I’m glad I did. Only five minutes after we started our shift, I had managed to get her talking about her many jobs that led up to her current one and her reasons for leaving the others. I was beginning to develop a healthy amount of respect for this woman. 40 minutes later I had learned the majority of her life story and she began passionately speaking about the issues that were closest to her heart.

Despite the fact that I almost never spoke, it was easily one the best conversations I have ever had. It was further than skin deep. I felt fulfilled afterward; my sense of purpose was renewed.

Since then, I have begun listening more and talking less. At the end of the day, I make sure to ask my family members how their day went and how they are feeling. This is something they have always made sure to do for me, whereas I have provided no more information than the bare minimum and completely neglected to show interest in their day-to-day lives. How can I expect to develop deep relationships if I do not show interest in others?

My relationship with Jesus is strictly superficial. I pray every once in a while, usually to tell Him how my life is going or ask Him for something. What kind of deep, healthy relationship is that?  This is a huge problem, and it is one I have been trying to rectify. I have faith that once I fall in love with Jesus again, every aspect of my life will be dramatically altered.

And change is looking to be a wonderful thing at the moment. Because SUPERFICIALITY MAKES LAMESAUCE. And who wants that?

Leave a Reply

Categories

